My Style: The Sublimeness

Hey old heads and newcomers! My name is Shawnon aka Sublimeness, and I am a proud Left Side Poet. I am an alumna of Hampton University who has a passion for writing. I am a literary poet who thrives on the subjects of love, identity, and suffering just to name a few. I just wanted to share a blog post with everyone that demonstrates my style as well as taking you into a glimpse of my life. Comments are greatly appreciated, and also let me or any of the other Left Siders know what you want to see on this blog in the future. Happy reading!

“I have a lot of potential. People see it. More people are going to know my name. It’s time to own it. It’s time to enhance my label as a writer. It’s time to read more and surf (the internet) less…live more and exist less…

I could be changing my life every moment of every day. I can inspire others with my writing. I could edit more and settle less…

It’s like the environment I’m in now. From initial sight, it doesn’t seem like much is going on. Faint animal noises, slight breezes, and occasional cars rolling by are the primary attention-getters. But the air pressure is rising and falling..the earth is turning…the sun will set soon. The trees and grass are photosynthesizing…You get the point. There’s so much more out there…

I could be a part of that. 

I may not be able to go where I want when I want. I may not grab someone’s attention at first glance. but dammit, I do have control. It’s up to me how my day goes. Everything could go wrong and I could very well laugh it off. My emotions don’t shouldn’t rule me. There is some logic inside of me…It’s just a matter of bringing it all out. 

Just think…if I was with her now, I wouldn’t even have this mindset right now. Fate (and God) works in mysterious ways. It’s crazy how much I can feel in a day.

I want to be inspired with every passing day. I want to surrender myself to this rapture…this concept of all or nothing…no half-stepping. I want to give my all to what matters: love, self-acceptance, living my dreams, freedom…

I can’t remember the last time I’ve lived in the moment like this. I need to do this more often. It’s refreshing. I’m renewing myself. This has to be like meditation for me…

About lovecrescendo

25. Published poet. Living in truth.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

