Here goes…

” Y’all know that Strange Fruit is so tight. Y’all need to go cop that.” – my roommate, Jasmin

This is the help I received when seeking input for how to craft an intriguing blog. I have the attention of the world wide web at my disposal ( once we figure out how to funnel enough people here for our modest beginnings to amount to something), and I don’t have a CLUE what to do with it! Like, now, for instance, is vulnerability an attractive blog quality??

Anyway, life these days is quite surreal. I can’t speak for the other Left Siders, but I feel like I’m living a huge double life. I just graduated college in May. I wait tables at Ruby Tuesday ( and, unfortunately don’t know if I’m all that great at it, but if you live in Hampton Roads, VA please come eat there, and request me. I can give you more details if you like), and I buy groceries and gas $20 at a time. Then, there are reporters leaving voicemails on my phone. I’m supposed to have a photoshoot within the next month or so, and I am now a blogger. And, at the rate things are going, people will actually read it. What? We’ve gotten nothing but outrageously encouraging reviews of our work. Who knew our journals would amount to anything?

I’m excited about us getting to share ourselves with the world, but even more, I’m excited to witness answered prayers. I became a Christian around the same time the Leftside Poets was forming, and all of my material was being ripped away from me: anger, sadness, unhealthy relationships. I wasn’t inspired by any of that any more. I had nothing.

So I prayed, ” God, if you gave me this gift for a reason, give it back please. I like writing, and I think I’m not awful at it. But I really don’t have anything to say. Please give it back if you want me to do something.”. That was 3.5 years ago, and I’ve performed at 2 weddings of close friends, and now I’m in a book. I don’t know what’s going on, but for the sake of answered prayers, here goes….

Nothing?
Something?
Everything? Matthew 25:14-30
-key

About lovelyiskey

I'm a disciple of Jesus that happens to write/perform poetry and have a book. I'm a poet that happens to wait tables. I'm a waitress that happens to have a blog. Welcome to my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

