A Five Minute Free-Write

Happy Friday, fam!!!!

It’s a bit after lunch time, and Fridays are my day to post. Staying true to my duties, here is a short poem I wrote recently for a friend’s marriage. Spending your life with someone is such an unselfish ans amazing thing, and it’s not something that everyone can do (just look at the divorce rate). So when I see it, I cherish it, secretly looking forward to the day when i’ll decide in my mind to man up and settle down.

Marriage

Is more than a
ceremony

It is as sacred as my
savior

More divine

Than the nine fingers
I leave unadorned

More special than
precious metal I place around that one,

Love, you are what
happens when exceptional leaves the fingertips of our father.

I have loved you

Before you were
wrapped in mahogany

When we were mere
spirits hidden in the basement of heaven

Resting on the work
table of God

Our energies grazed
way before my eyes laid their gaze on your physical frame

These rings

Are much more than
decoration

They polarize our
magnetic atoms

Adam had these when
he was in the garden with Eve,

Love please, let’s
spend beyond together forever

Let’s spend our
sunset casting cares against the clouds

And matching them
with fishing pole prayers into a sea of petitions

I petition you

Let’s take eternity
to talk about our desires

And write them into
time

Allow me to
impregnate you with my dreams

And watch you birth
them into reality

Let’s enjoy forever.

-T. Odis

#SPITFOREVER

About micthemessenger

I be chillin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Five Minute Free-Write

  1. GD says:

    Beautiful poem. You can never fail if you write with this much emotion. Thank you for sharing. Congratulations to your friend.

    -GD
    Visit my writing blog at http://shelleddreams.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

