The Fire Within

The true work of art is but a shadow of the divine perfection.                                -Michelangelo

Tell me. Who doesn’t love being surrounded by, immersed in, and filled with their passion and the people that share that same passion? What human being has ever breathed and not longed to be a part of something greater than their own individual existence? And if you are, in any way, a frequenter of our blog, what is better than exposure to the different beauties of art? Even one medium has so many different facets to it.

It’s the reason I can spend hours you-tubing spoken word performances. It’s the reason I love being a left side poet. It’s the reason I remember where I was the first time I heard Maxwell’s “Pretty Wings” (and many other amazing songs), because it’s more than words thrown together. They make something happen inside. And similarly, photography isn’t just pictures, and fashion isn’t just fabric. And the reason we spend ourselves, sometimes tirelessly, to express our vision or emotion just right isn’t just about us. It’s something bigger and deeper.

Something divine.

The Greater Atlanta Church of Christ is hosting the Arts and Entertainment conference in September, and the theme is “The Fire Within”.  There will be a fashion show, concerts, meet-and-greets with artists of all kinds, loungin’, AND classes on how to make or keep your craft about something bigger than yourself. How positively, even eternally impact people’s lives through the way you live your art.

Pic from the '09 conference, Nanyana and Speech from Arrested Development

And don’t get it twisted, though the focus is how to please God, every class isn’t focused on making everything a “gospel” brand.

“Though I am free and belong to no one, I have made myself a slave to everyone, to win as many as possible.  To the Jews I became like a Jew, to win the Jews. To those under the law I became like one under the law (though I myself am not under the law), so as to win those under the law.  To those not having the law I became like one not having the law (though I am not free from God’s law but am under Christ’s law), so as to win those not having the law. To the weak I became weak, to win the weak. I have become all things to all people so that by all possible means I might save some.”

-1 cor 9:19-22

And to the artists, and all lovers of art, we should learn how to become better artists and friends of artists. Believe me, even amongst artists, it takes a special effort to befriend and love an artist. Ha!

I, unfortunately, may not be able to go this year because of financial strain. The grace period for my loans will be just ending, and I should prioritize my obligations. *sigh* BUT, I badly want to go. So, go! GO, so I can live through you and take pictures, so I can see them. Go, be inspired and get in touch with your Fire within. Discover how God expresses himself. If we are made in his image, how much more creative or beautiful is he? And how much more passion does he feel for his creation? His masterpieces? Take a look outside! 😉 (and in the mirror)

Concert!

Fashion!

beautiful art!

Check it out::  http://www.aandeconference.com/fr_fire.cfm

-Key

About lovelyiskey

I'm a disciple of Jesus that happens to write/perform poetry and have a book. I'm a poet that happens to wait tables. I'm a waitress that happens to have a blog. Welcome to my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Fire Within

  1. Great post!!!!!! This defines exactly WHY i spit….i might have to move some stuff around for this…

  2. Bryan says:

    I’m not an artis or am I …?
    I do love artists and I like ur post
    Being free minded… Can that be take to far
    I’m to tightly wound to self absorb ( does this have sprellcheck?)
    I also am not good at spelling

    This is my poem.. Titled ” ArTis”t” with a t”

    I guess I am..

  3. ed parton says:

    you forgot to mention Nanyana is with Speech in your picture…

  4. Da Bishop says:

    Very nice blog and story on the A&E conference. It’s gonna be quite cool! I’m gonna be there, two years ago i was there and it was amazing!

Leave a Reply

