The Very Hungry Artist

my energy efficient "light bulb moment"....also cooler and more powerful. You can tell by the rays shooting around it.

So, on my personal blog, I’m beginning to go in a new direction. If you visit it, this new direction may not be so visible because it’s still in its beginning stages, and there was no real initial direction. Nonetheless, now that I have decided there is a new direction….we are going with that. There is also not too much evidence of this new direction except for the most recent post, which, if you have a moment, I encourage you to look at.

I encourage you to look at it more for personal satisfaction of seeing my stats become more impressive than for your gain. I hope you like it, but as I said…there isn’t much substance to it….YET. But I’m excited, and hopefully this will becoming my “thing” as I strive to become a more disciplined blogger. Basically, I’m going to start documenting my life as a very hungry artist….not a starving artist, because (let’s be real), the fact that we even have the time or other resources to be involved in the blog realm makes us wealthier than a vast majority of the world. So, no matter how our self pity likes to view it or how much is (or isn’t) in our refrigerators…at worst, we are simply very hungry.For more on my thoughts on that, you can visit my personal blog. For the left side fans, though, tonight, I have a recipe. It’s one of my new favorites. So new, in fact, that I only threw it together, in its completion this afternoon.

Ingredients:

Frozen fruit. I am prone to purchasing a store's brand, and I favor "nosugar added". This recipe calls for about 1/2 a handful of fruit.

Maria Cookies! A new fave of mine. I got a tube of aprx 35 cookies for $.88 at one of my new favorite stores "bottom dollar". It's a nice wafer...not too sweet. But sweet enough for my sweet tooth.

 

Dannon all natural vanilla yogurt. I buy the 32oz because I use it so often (by itself, smoothies, this great recipe!)

Instructions: very simple

1- Defrost about 1/2 handful of frozen fruit. (my method: place in a bowl of water and microwave for 12 seconds…then drain water)

2- Spoon yogurt on top of fruit to liking. My favorite portion is about 1/3 a cup. (how hungry are you? you decide)

3- Stir fruit/yogurt mixture. Yogurt will turn a delightful pink/purple.

4- Garnish with 1 or 2 maria cookies.

5- ENJOY!

My Review- This tastes like a sophisticated treat, and it’s pretty guiltless! (unless you go crazy on the cookies). It’s tangy and sweet, and the maria cookie adds a pleasant crunch. You can eat the cookie(s) as a side, or scoop some yogurt and even a berry onto it. Eating this, I don’t feel like I can’t afford fine dining 😉 This is especially great for me because I have such a sweet tooth, and I need healthy options to turn to. This doesn’t even feel like a sacrifice! Fills my stomach so my brain is free to think about something more leisurely…like writing! Or singing…or something. I’ll have to post a picture of mine.

About lovelyiskey

I'm a disciple of Jesus that happens to write/perform poetry and have a book. I'm a poet that happens to wait tables. I'm a waitress that happens to have a blog. Welcome to my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Very Hungry Artist

  1. You have no idea how badly I needed a good, sweet and healthy option! Thanks! Will have to try this out soon!

Leave a Reply

