Hunger Strikes Again

I did a google image search for “eat more vegetables”.

scary veggie propaganda

This is what popped up.

It’s a common fact these days that EVERYTHING causes cancer, but still, seeing this is quite motivating for wanting to increase my vegetable intake. As a very hungry artist, I find my staple foods to be: eggs, yogurt, frozen fruit, sweet potatoes, pancakes, bean and cheese quesadillas, smoothies,and cereal. Oh..and toast. And bagels over the last week because I bought a bag from the bread store for $1.33. Great deal…but, not so great that I have to eat so much bread in such a short amount of time.

Anyway, so my diet is very heavy in carbs and dairy, then there’s fruit. Allow me to inform you that I am NOT a vegetarian. I just find with life’s schedule and my budget, meat is inconvenient. I really do enjoy it though. Sometimes I make spaghetti (one time since may), or a turkey burger (once every other week)…and I bought some chicken. I just haven’t thawed it yet. That still leaves out vegetables. Are sweet potatoes vegetables? They are sweet. So I’m not sure. Anyway, in my hunger this evening, I was quite stumped as to what to eat because I’d had a bagel, eggs, some sweet potato, and a small salad at work. Working at ruby tuesday, I get to eat off the garden bar about once a month for free somehow. So I try to load up on my vegetables, but I still knew that I couldn’t resort to cereal for dinner again or eggs and pancakes. Enough was enough! I had to branch out, and my roomate reminding me of my forgotten food group helped this realization. In my quest to satisfy my hunger and fill my nutrition gap, this simple recipe is what I came up with. It’s nothing fancy, but I liked it…and feel a little further away from developing cancer…at least the kind you get from not eating vegetables. I’m still susceptible to the other 1,000,439,343.98 kinds lurking out there.

What you will need:

Frozen Okra. I purchased a 16oz bag for less than $2. SOOO good for you. (click the pic to see)

Sausage! I prefer oscar meyer's smoked turkey sausage because it's lean and still tasty. I bought it about a little over a week ago and forgot the cost. Not expensive though. At all.

Adobo. My dad is Dominican. I could season everything with adobo, sazon, and garlic. Cheap all-purpose seasoning. Get some.

 ….and olive oil, but you don’t need a picture of that.

So, here are the instructions.

1- heat a small pan to a little past the halfway mark (it was about 6 1/2 on my stove)

2- pour about 3/4 cup of frozen okra into the pan, and let cook for about 2 minutes

3- Slice about 1/4 of of one of the sausages and add to the pan. Obviously, this will vary if you like more meat or use a different type of sausage. These are my preferences.

4- Sprinkle the adobo over top. I don’t know how to estimate measured seasonings. Good luck. Don’t over do it. I have faith in you. (oh wait…just remembered, I sprinkled some garlic powder on there too. Have at it!)

5- Stir around the pan to keep from sticking, and then add 1tbsp of olive oil, drizzle over the top

6- add 2 tbsp of water (sorry. I didn’t include a picture of water)

7- Continue to stir periodically over the next 6 minutes as sausage browns. You may notice a sticky/slimy consistency forming. Don’t worry. Okra does that. That is desirable.

7- Lower the heat to halfway between “off” and halfway. That’s a 3 on my stove…Then cover it and leave it to simmer for about 3 minutes to seal the deal.

8- take the lid off, stir, and then plate it. TADA!

the camera on my phone isn't the best, but this is it!

My Review: I really liked it. Very flavorful. I would suggest even adding sliced onions or maybe even carrots to add more texture and flavor varieties. The texture of okra made this dish a bit of a confusing experience to chew sometimes, but I’m an okra fan. Since I don’t eat it often, I enjoy the experience, anticipate it even. Overall, I like that it was quick and nutrient-packed and meal-like. I think this would also be good over a bed of brown rice.

-key

About lovelyiskey

I'm a disciple of Jesus that happens to write/perform poetry and have a book. I'm a poet that happens to wait tables. I'm a waitress that happens to have a blog. Welcome to my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hunger Strikes Again

  1. QuoteKey says:

    This actually sounds tasty. Will try! 🙂

Leave a Reply

