It’s midnight. Do you know where your _____ is?

image

It’s late. Well. I suppose, for many, the night is just getting started, but my day has been long. My week has been long. Not bad. Just long.

And eventful.

Not necessarily in an adventurous way, but maybe in a way that makes for a good, moderately paced, realistic fiction novel. Ha! Maybe. But everyone thinks they deserve a reality tv show or some sort of recognition for the way they live their lives. I got commissioned to model someone’s make-up for a showing next week. This happened while I was serving them today at my job. I thought she was going to try getting me to purchase something,which I’m sure she still may (can’t knock her hustle).So it was definitely a pleasant surprise.

Anyway, at the end of this long week full of long hours standing on my feet and late nights/early mornings….I just want to DANCE chill: kick back and have some quality conversation. (I was at a hang out earlier and def danced on some game on the kinnect…but I’m over it now).

Alas, a lot of my friends are still living it up at that shin-dig. My roomates are sleeping, texting isn’t warm enough, and I’m too brain dead to carry on a phone convo worth anything. Since none of my lady friends are in town or free to sleep over (and it’s not my style to chill w a man friend at this time), I’ve resorted to blogging and mellowing out to my Chrisette Michelle pandora station. Being a business major, and then becoming a preoccupied woman, fighting to survive a newly independent lifestyle, I’ve drifted so far from two of my passions: reading and writing. all forms.

I miss it so much. I love it so much. When my peers at my home by the sea, Hampton Univeristy, would see me in the business building, they would often ask (quite puzzled) why I was in the business building. People assumed I majored in some art. Before business swallowed me whole. God has totally used The Left Side Poets to keep my fire burning and my heart beating. Not my physical heart…but the part that dreams, the part that burns with passions and that soars when it finds its thing. you know.

So it feels good to blog. To write.

Ron, my fellow Left Sider tweeted, “‘you can’t write if you don’t read’… I forgot who said that but I always remind myself of that simple fact”.

It must’ve been a friend or professor of his because google didn’t tell me who said it. However, I really want to get back into reading. I read The Help this summer. SOOO good. A few other books or series I want to get into…The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. My friend was telling me about this series tonight. I like that, as I’m told, it has like 5 intertwining stories in one and is thought provoking.

James Patterson novels intrigue me as well. They are suspenseful detective novels. I read Big Bad Wolf while in high school. It centers around infiltrating the sex trafficking circuits. So gripping. I’m curious about what else Patterson has to offer.

Nicholas Sparks, author of the notebook, definitely appeals to my romantic and whimsical self. I’m just not sure if I want to get that immersed in so much romance while aiming to be content with my singledom. A girl has to know her limits. 😉

Do you recommend any books or series? Or authors? Please, let me know where to go. I’m just getting back into all of this and I’d like some guidance.
man. Pandora is REALLY getting it right on this station right now.

I need to go to bed. I have a picture I hope to post tomorrow of my stuffed animals posed on my bed….chilling, Kicking back, and vibing with me.

Forgive my rambling…

it’s late

Key<3

Ps: Follow me: @lovelyiskey

About lovelyiskey

I'm a disciple of Jesus that happens to write/perform poetry and have a book. I'm a poet that happens to wait tables. I'm a waitress that happens to have a blog. Welcome to my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

