When life is beautiful…

Hunger exists. Chronic illness exists. Car accidents ( I was recently in one, but it wasn’t so bad. I thought I was fine, but one of my doctor friends checked me out, and actually said I needed some work, but that’s another story). The recession (that we are supposed to be exiting, but I don’t see the end yet in my world). Bad music. Bad film. Expensive gas.

The list goes on….


but not in this entry.

This entry is about when life is beautiful….when you can see life is beautiful. .

23 has been a good year for me. I am only about half way through it, but it is proving to be a beautiful year. Confusing. But beautiful. I’ve backspaced so many times trying to articulate exactly what it is I want to communicate here. *focus* I want to talk about how I’m growing and developing in my art. I want to talk about my professional career. I want to talk about how Shawnon is on her grind, and the Left Side Poets could be featured in a book fair. I want to talk about having dreams again. I want to talk about performing songs and poems and venturing into dance/acting. I want to talk about how I, unlike Sophia, liked Django but don’t like all of the blood that, as usual, comes with the director (Gag). But these are all just buffers and introductions because

 mainly, I just want to talk about what a beautiful thing it is for someone to one day appear and help set your world right.

I’m not talking about someone being your whole world (*ahem*idolatry*ahem*)….just someone who helps make it right. Imagine: you have this huge beautiful painting hanging on your wall, an original. Costly. Framed in quality, ornately carved wood.This painting is gorgeous, and it is your favorite style of art. But! It is hanging a tad crooked. No matter how you try to fix it, it just hangs slightly crooked. And then someone comes along and sets it right.

Maybe that analogy only works for people with OCD or who really care about interior design, but work with me here. Do you ever feel like you have more words than you know what to do with? Like, you need to resort to writing sonnets and maybe odes? Like butterflies are nothing, but glitter and confetti trail behind you with every text you send and receive? Like, life is a continuous playlist of India Arie, Eric Benet, Joss Stone, and the like?

 

Beautiful mutual affection between 2 people still exists, and that is so exciting. I write best when I know down in my joints and marrow that I’m deeply cared for. When The Left Side Poets were coming together in 2008, I was getting to truly know God and his love for the first time. I had so much to write about, and that was fortunate because there was no hanging around the LSP and not writing. We were always sharing what was new with us and our pens. Writing from the overflow of my heart, my peers pegged me the love poet….and it fits.

I believe with all my heart that my handsome gift from God and I would tear each other apart if we tried to make it work without implementing biblical principles, but because we do put those into practice I live every day of my life feeling like it’s valentine’s day. So this is where I’ve been: on cloud 9. I have so much more I could say, but it is all so jumbled in my head, I don’t want to subject you to any more, but don’t you just sometimes feel like you have to tell someone when your life feels so beautiful?

-key ❤

– key with confetti/glitter             

black, confetti, couple, fashion, girl

About lovelyiskey

I'm a disciple of Jesus that happens to write/perform poetry and have a book. I'm a poet that happens to wait tables. I'm a waitress that happens to have a blog. Welcome to my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to When life is beautiful…

  1. Buxxy says:

    Love. Love. Love. I love it all. Very happy for you! 🙂

Leave a comment